The Top 5 Best Smelling And Best Selling Deodorants for Men

image of best smelling deodorant for menWe’re going to analyze the best deodorant for men, and specifically the best smelling deodorant for men or the best smelling anti-perspirant for men.

The BEST SELLING deodorant for men is Dove Men+Care Antiperspirant Deodorant, Extra Fresh 2.7 oz (Twin Pack) . More than 70% rate this deodorant 5 out of 5 stars!

The most common comment is that “It has pleasant, masculine scent that isn’t overpowering.”

I think the most important thing is that women feel they are smelling YOU, not something under your arm! You can see more details below.

When it comes to SEXY-SMELLING deodorants, certainly the most striking and popular is Axe Anti-Perspirant Stick, Phoenix 2.7 oz, Twin Pack. 79% (!!!) rate this 5 out of 5 stars!

And the comments are like this: “This just smells good.. and more importantly, does what it’s supposed to.”

There are Axe deodorants that have a heavier scent, but Phoenix is the winner.

Neither of these popular deodorants is expensive. You should just try one and see how it goes. For more details you can scroll down.

According to the New York Times, the Egyptians invented scented bathing and were the first to apply perfume to their armpits. Sweat itself does not smell — it is just water and some body salts, like potassium. It is a result of our body trying to keep cool by producing water, which cools when it evaporates off our skin.

Here are our recommendations for Best Smelling Deodorant for Men…

Dove Men+Care Antiperspirant & Deodorant, Extra Fresh 2.7 oz

dove men care deodorant image best smelling deodorant for men
dove men care deodorant image best smelling deodorant for men
Dove Men+Care Antiperspirant & Deodorant, Extra Fresh 2.7 oz, in a 2-pack. As of the moment of writing of this article, the item is an “add-on item”, which means it can be added on to an order that is already over $25. That may explain why it is currently so inexpensive and therefore the #1 best seller on Amazon.

  • Manufacturer’s comment: You’ll enjoy long-lasting defense against sweat and odor with Dove Men+Care Antiperspirants. The powerful formula provides 48 hours of protection.
  • Amazon comment: “I have been using this product for a few months now, and am very satisfied with the results. I have sensitive skin which tends to become easily irritated. Easily washes off in the shower.”
  • “What I like most about this product is how it compliments the soap of the same smell. I use both and feel manlier every time I use them. The combo pack on Amazon is a steal if you ask me.”
  • 4.4 rating on Amazon, with over 400 reviews.
  • Cost factor $1.09 per oz (5.89/5.4 very good) as of 11/5/16.


Green Tidings All Natural Deodorant *Extra Strength, All Day Protection* 2.7 oz Unscented

best smelling deodorant for men picture of get pricing green tidings natural
best smelling deodorant for men picture of get pricing green tidings natural
The best smelling deodorant for men that has the most reviews, which is commonly an indicator of how popular it is, is Green Tidings All Natural Deodorant *Extra Strength, All Day Protection* 2.7 oz Unscented.

  • Manufacturer’s comments: Non-toxic, Organic, Vegan, Gluten-free, Corn-free
  • Soy-free, Paraben-free, SLS-free, Aluminum-free
  • Propylene-glycol free, Fragrance-Free
  • Petroleum and Petrolatum-free, Pthalate-free
  • Paraffin-free, Mineral Oil-free, no artificial colors
  • What’s more, it is made in Southern California! What’s not to like?
  • 4.5 rating on Amazon with over 2,800 reviews – a very popular deodorant!
  • Cost factor: $5.55 per ounce (expensive!) (14.99/2.7) as of 11/5/16.


Axe Anti-Perspirant Stick, Phoenix 2.7 oz, Twin Pack

phoenix axe dry green best smelling deodorant for men
phoenix axe dry green best smelling deodorant for men
AXE Phoenix provides deodorant protection that will keep you dry and smelling great. For a complete personal care regimen, try the full line of AXE Phoenix products.

  • In a large number of forums and comments on the subject, Axe deodorant comes up frequently.
  • This product is available at a very low price as of the time of this article because it is an add-on product to orders of $25 or more.
  • One comment says “I purchase this for my husband because it is both a antiperspirant and deodorant and it smells really good.”
  • Another: “Excellent. Definitely your girlfriend or wife likes the smell. Best one among the ones I used so far. The fragrence lasts for hours. “
  • Our understanding is that it has a distinctive and relative strong smell. If you are ready for that, this is the one.
  • 4.4 out of 5 rating on Amazon with Over 140 reviews.
  • Cost rating $1.00 per ounce (very good) as of 11/5/16


Degree Men Dry Protection Antiperspirant & Deodorant, Clean 2.7 oz (Pack of 6)

best smelling deodorant for men picture of click for best price
phoenix axe dry best picture what is best smelling deodorant for men
Degree Clean body response invisible solid, anti-perspirant & deodorant stick – ultra dry formula for men in a shower fresh scent.

  • Manufacturer: Degree has unique body-responsive technology that releases extra protection when you need it the most.
  • Degree not only protects men who take risks – but it takes risk to a whole new level.” Wow!
  • Comments: “This particular formula simply works.”
  • Keeps me dry and smells good.”
  • This one happens to be a pack of 6, so it is a really good price, special pricing only for Prime members
  • Comment: “Best ‘budget’ Deodorant on the Market”
  • 4.5 out of 5 rating on Amazon with Over 140 reviews.
  • Cost rating $.87 per ounce (very low price – 14.82/ 2.7*6) as of 11/5/16


Old Spice Classic Deodorant , Original Scent, 3.25-Ounces (Pack of 6)

picture of get pricing best smelling deodorant for men
picture of get pricing best smelling deodorant for men
Welcome to a home filled with deer heads, huge fireplaces, unpublished manuscripts, and gold-plated hot tubs. Old Spice Classic Scent Anti-Perspirant & Deodorant envelops you in a clean, manly scent that has served mankind for decades. And it fights odor all day, turning your armpit house into an armpit home.

  • Over the years, Old Spice Classic Deodorant , Original Scent has been a favorite.
  • It has a distinctive “Old Spice” scent that many would call the best smelling deodorant for men.
  • The manufacturer’s claims say it all: Increases your awesomeabilityness. If your Grandfather hadn’t worn it, you wouldn’t exist. You know the smell of fear? It is the opposite of that smell. Plants a flag of fragrance high atop your man mountain. Increases your ability to sense other dimensions.
  • 4.5 rating in Amazon with over 170 reviews.
  • Cost rating $ .57 per ounce (very low price 11.14/ 3.25*6) as of 11/5/16

Let’s say you’re a young man, maybe 25 or younger, like many people one might feel that cologne or other fancy smell helps attract a mate. In addition, as a guy, there were fragrances that others wore that were attractive to you. And some that you couldn’t stand.

Same for deodorants.

Funny, but generally whether or not I personally liked someone else’s smell often depended on whether or not I liked the person, man or woman.

Sweat can also be the result of stress on our body, like happens when we get in a tense job interview or see someone attractive! But the wetness can gather under the arm or some other place and not dry off. The water combines with our natural body bacteria, and this combination can produce smells that are undesirable to some people.

Our body has about 5 million sweat glands, with less than half-a-per-cent under our armpits. In total, it is possible for our body to sweat and evaporate as much as 3 to 5 pints of fluid an hour in the heat. A pint weighs a pound, so that could be a few pounds of water gone if you are sweating a lot. That’s one way to lose weight!

An anti-perspirant contains a chemical (generally an aluminum chloride compound) which works to plug up the sweat gland where it is applied. This limits the amount of sweat coming out in your armpits. So just being an anti-perspirant is not going to cause something to be the best smelling anti-perspirant for men.

A deodorant, on the other hand, works by killing the bacteria mentioned above that causes undesired smells. So unless you smell really bad anyway, a deodorant itself is not going to make the best smelling deodorant for men.

To be the best smelling deodorant for men, a product has to have perfume added. So the question is, what is the most preferred perfume? The best we can do is to look for the most popular best deodorant for men, from reviews, from total sales and ratings.

Why?

Ozygen Media did a poll on smells and dating and women’s preference and results said that more than 85% of women say that bad body odor ranks near the top in things that will kill a date! If you don’t smell good, your going to lose out with just about all women. So you need to smell good!

There has been a lot of research into what smells good, because the deodorant business is huge. Just go to your local supermarket and look at the selection of deodorants and anti-perspirants available. To satisfy this market, there are a huge number of smell tests and other research to stop your perspiring and make you smell good. What we have tried to do here is to present to you the most popular and therefore the most successful deodorants on the market.

The deodorants we list here are the most popular, each with thousands of reviews on Amazon and elsewhere on the internet.

Cost factors are calculated by dividing the total cost of the single- or-multi-pack by the total ounces. However, I think if you are worrying about finding the best smelling deodorant for men, the total cost of your deodorant is pretty small, and is not really an important factor.

Normally a deodorant or anti-perspirant has no smell of its own. But deodorants or anti-perspirants add some scent, similar to cologne or perfume, in an effort to smell good to people around us. Thus the question, what is the best smelling deodorant for men? In this analysis, we will lump deodorants and deodorant/anti-perspirants together, and the reader will have to decide if he or she wants an anti-perspirant in there! So we could just as well be looking for the the best smelling deodorant for men, the best deodorant for men or the best smelling anti-perspirant for men.

Since my feelings about fragrances is mixed up with my feelings about the men or women who wore them, I suspect this is the same for other people, too. Thus, there is a perfume named Chantilly (note: if I remember correctly it smells like baby powder) that brings back negative memories, whereas I like Opium and Norell.

What does a manly man smell like? Or what does a man want to smell like?

Studying up on this subject of the best smelling deodorant for men, we have found that the general opinion is that popular female deodorants or perfumes smell similar to some mixture of natural ingredients: flowers, cinnamon sugar, etc. On the other hand, for the men’s scents, a few comments said that the best smelling deodorant for men smell like a hardware store, rotting tree or a highway truck stop. Ok, maybe that is somewhat of an exaggeration, but the idea is that it is more earthy.

Another woman comments, “There is something about Fahrenheit that I definitely like. I’d say that is my favorite.”

So the bottom line is that a guy who is trying to figure out what scent to use for a deodorant has to do some experimenting and probably have to have either enough willing dates to get opinions from, or a spouse or partner who will do the same. Some of these are “special price for Prime members.” If you are not a prime member, click anyway and just look a little for a version that is non-Prime!

By the way, there is an absolutely fantastic website for frangrances at http://www.fragrantica.com. An easy way to access it, for example, is to search on Google for “fragrantica axe” and then select the right Google search result. It will take you to the page describing exactly what Axe smells like to an expert. Maybe you can figure out the the best smelling deodorant for men.

Best Smelling Deodorant For Men – Best Reviews From Aloha Creek

You Might Also Like

5 Comments

  • Reply Larry Nelson August 15, 2015 at 5:39 pm

    I really like Dove Men Care. This deodorant smells nice, it comes as a powder stick instead of gel, which is a lot better for clothes when your underarms sweat. Glides on smoothly and wipes off easily, doesn’t leave your underarms feeling gritty or oily. Lasts all day from the time I out it on in the morning, to the time I take a shower at night. This lasts all day including on days I do a lot of physical activity, truly an all day protection. Best smelling deodorant for men.

  • Reply Paul N August 29, 2015 at 10:32 am

    I got Dove Men+Care. I have been using this product for a few months now, and am very satisfied with the results. I have sensitive skin which tends to become easily irritated from the combination of sweat, antiperspirant, and friction from daily arm movement. I am comparing this product to “Degree Invisible Stick Antiperspirant & Deodorant 2.7oz”, which I have used for almost a year exclusively. It has a pleasant, masculine scent that isn’t overpowering. I think it is the best smelling deodorant for men.

  • Reply Jimmy K August 29, 2015 at 1:02 pm

    Axe is the best smelling deodorant for men out there. Been using it for over 10 years and my girlfriend loves the smell.

  • Reply Acu1410 August 29, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    On Green Tidings: Amazing!! I cannot believe it! A natural deodorant that actually works! I have tried just about every natural deodorant out there, none of which have worked, until now!! After seeing this product on the green tidings Facebook page and after read the good reviews on amazon on this product and figured i would give it a try and i am so glad i did! I do a lot of public speaking and get nervous when i do so and sweat a lot too, especially in hot climates and i found after using this product i have no smell whatsoever! I LOVE this product and will be recommending it to everyone! This will be the only deodorant i will use from now on. Thank you so so so much!

  • Reply Varun Kumar July 8, 2016 at 4:30 am

    oh!
    that’s a very nice list of deodorants for men.
    As a perfume collector let me tell you a valuable thing..
    Deo’s and perfumes are use for eliminating the odor which is caused from bacteria reacting with sweat. If you’re using the same deodorant since few years then it’s a good idea to switch to some other as the bacteria can sometimes become resistant.

  • Leave a Comment